Lake O’Hara

Lake O’Hara is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and they limit the amount of people that can go into this fragile alpine area daily.  Kirstie and I book a day there every September and every year it is completely different.  Last year we had a day that was without a cloud in the sky, 22 degrees and the Larch trees had already turned golden yellow.  Today was very different and just as stunning and surreal as ever as a recent snowstorm had just hit the area.  It is not far from Banff but feels quite different as it is on the western side of the Divide.  This place has been named by National Geographic as the second most beautiful place on earth only behind the Fjords of Norway.  I haven’t been to Norway and really want to go but to be honest if I could spend one day every September in this place, then I really don’t need anything else.  It truly is a special place and we have really only touched the surface of what there is to see on the abundance of hikes in the area.  Lake O’Hara is a hiker’s paradise and holds a great amount of diversity.  See more photos that Kirstie took here.

lake_o'hara_yoho_national_park_002

lake_o'hara_yoho_national_park_003

2 Comments on “Lake O’Hara

    • I would love to Olov! Your latest video is so awesome, makes me want to be riding there right now. I will do whatever I can to make it happen someday. Cheers and keep up the amazing work!

Leave a comment